When you click the ‘x’ in the top right-hand of an ad on Facebook, this is the box that replaces it:

I find the four given options to be an astonishingly accurate description of the way I feel about ads in general. The constellation of terms, “uninteresting, misleading, offensive, and repetitive,” are so spot-on that I never know which to pick when I want to make the ads go away.

Doesn’t the fact that Facebook offers these options indicate that they also know that ads are all of the above? Imagine there was a brand of ice cream that had a complaint sheet with the options “chalky taste, texture like sand, other.” I think this would speak to a bit of fore-knowledge concerning product deficiencies. Somewhere at some time, there was a focus group that produced these terms, an articulation of common disgust with being sold crap all the time. It’s always good to know I’m not alone.

