Trying to read Dostoyevsky’s The Possessed while my mom and sister watch “Gossip Girl” has given me an idea I’ll let Hollywood have for free. Why not turn some of the great Russian literature into contemporized teen soap operas like “The O.C.” or “Rich ‘N’ Bored” or whatever the kids are watching these days? Most of the plots are similar enough – attractive wealthy young people doing dramatic things. The sex isn’t as explicit but I’m sure they pay people millions just to add that stuff into scripts. All of the works are in the public domain by now and hoity-toity publications would admire the literary quality, I promise a good review in The New Yorker, maybe even Slate! Imagine those well-coiffed youngsters fighting duels and mimeographing revolutionary pamphlets, far more interesting diversions for the overprivileged than what we see on TV nowadays. Maybe The Peeb would be interested…

