The other day I learned a fun fact about the economist Adam Smith. While reading about Gypsies for my Victorian Cosmopolitanisms class, I read that Smith had been the victim of a Gypsy-kidnapping when he was a small child. He was quickly rescued, but it got me thinking, what if he hadn’t been? Sure someone else would have come up with the theory of laissez-faire economics, but what if Smith had still become an economist? How would being raised by Gypsies have affected his (and our) conceptions of economic systems? The course of history could have changed drastically were Smith to have remained kidnapped. Perhaps we would now have an economy based around barter-and-trade systems. Maybe we would all be nomads. Food for thought and a new addition to my list of novels I will never write.

